City Council

Rio Dell has a City Council - City Manager form of government. The City Council sets policy while the City Manager carries out the day-to-day business of the City. The Mayor is selected by the City Council and serves as the presiding officer at city council meetings and as the official head of the City for legislative and ceremonial purposes.

City Council Members are elected to four year terms. Terms are staggered and every two years either 2 or 3 members are up for re-election.

Mayor Debra Garnes
Term Expires: 2022

Councilmember Julie Woodall
Term Expires: 2022

Councilmember Amanda Carter
Term Expires: 2024

Mayor Pro Tem Gordon Johnson
Term Expires: 2022

Councilmember Frank Wilson
Term Expires: 2024



Council Committee Appointments

Humboldt County Association of Governments (HCAOG)
Meets 3rd Thursday at 4:00 PM in Eureka
Appointee: Strahan    Alternate: Woodall

Humboldt County Convention & Visitors Bureau
Meets Quarterly for lunch (various locations)
Appointee: Garnes    Alternate: Strahan

Humboldt Waste Management Authority (HWMA)
Meets 3rd Thursday @ 5:30 PM in Eureka
Appointee: Wilson    Alternate: Richter

Humboldt Transit Authority (HTA)
Meets 3rd Wednesday at 9:00 AM at HTA
Appointee: Woodall    Alternate: Strahan

League of California Cities (Redwood Empire Division) (LOCC)
Meets Quarterly (various locations)
Appointee: Garnes    Alternate: Richter

Redwood Region Economic Development Commission (RREDC)
Meets 4th Monday at 6:30 PM in Eureka
Appointee: Richter    Alternate: Woodall

Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo)
(Appointed Dec. 2014 to term ending 6/30/16)
Appointee: None    Alternate: None

Redwood Coast Energy Authority
Meets 3rd Monday at 3:00 PM in Eureka
Appointee: Wilson    Alternate: Garnes

Humboldt/Del Norte Hazardous Response Authority
Meets Quarterly at 4:30 PM in Eureka
Appointee: Strahan    Alternate: Garnes

Internal Committees

Traffic Committee: Chief of Police Conner, Community Development Director Caldwell, City Manager Knopp, Rio Dell Fire Chief Wilson, Water/Roadways Superintendent Jensen, Coucnilmember Wilson and Councilmember Woodall
(Meetings scheduled as needed)

Nuisance Hearing Committee: City Manager Knopp, Community Development Director Caldwell, Chief of Police Conner, Councilmembers Woodall and Strahan, and 2 public members:  Joseph Frye & (vacant)

(There is no establishment of a “Nuisance Committee”)

Sculpture Committee: Community Development Director Caldwell, Councilmember Wilson, Susan Pryor, Robert (Robey) Agnew and Kim Reid with Mayor Garnes as alternate.

Liaison to Rio Dell Fire District: Councilmember Garnes/Strahan (Alternate)

Liaison to Rio Dell/Scotia Chamber of Commerce: Councilmember Woodall/Garnes (Alternate)

Labor Adhoc Committee: Councilmembers Garnes and Richter.


The City Council meets on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6:30pm at City Hall.

See City Council Agendas & Minutes here.